Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science was founded in 1990, the same year the college was established, and is, therefore, one of the oldest Departments in the college. We as a Department have grown from strength to strength along with the College.

The Department’s humble beginnings started with a single teacher, Shri. A. K Adhikari , who is serving the college since its inception till date. Others whose contribution to the Department cannot be forgotten include Shri. Trilochan Dash and Dr. Duryodhan Jena. Shri. T. Dash joined the Department in the year 1995 and left in the year 1999. Subsequently, Dr. D. Jena joined the Department in the year 1999 and left the college in 2016. In recent years, two new teachers- Shri. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam and Shri. Apphorozein Lamin have joined the Department in the year 2017 and 2018 respectively. The Department currently has three permanent faculty members. The undergraduate course that the Department teaches is in line with the syllabus that has been prescribed by NEHU.

Course Structure

Semester Elective Honours
1st Semester Political Theory
2nd Semester Major Political System
3rd Semester Indian Political System
Semester Honours
4th Semester International Politics
5th Semester Western Political Thought & Public Administration
6th Semester Government and Politics in North-East India & International Organisation


Name Area of Interest Qualification Desiganation Year of Joining
Shri. Ajoy Kumar Adhikary Public Administration, Political Science M.A., B.Ed Lecturer & HoD 1990
Shri. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam International Politics, Indian Govt. and Politics M.A., NET Lecturer 2017
Shri. Apphorozein Lamin Amdep Political Theory, Western Political Thought M.A. Lecturer 2018


  • Teaching
  • Evaluation (Internal – Test, and Assignment; External – Semester Examinations)
  • Tutorial/Remedial Classes and Student Seminars
  • Student Mentoring


  1. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam, “Traditional Political Institutions in Jaintia Hills: Raliang Dolloiship, in Revisiting Traditional Institutions in the Khasi-Jaintia Hills, Charles Rueben Lyngdoh (ed.), Cambridge Scholars Publishing, Newcastle, United Kingdom, 2016, pp. 93-111, (ISBN : 978-1-4438-9969-7)
  2. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam, “The Pattern of Land Ownership among the Jaiñtia of Meghalaya”, The Political Anvil, Vol. 5, No.1, 2016, pp, 67-83 (ISSN: 2319-7528)
  3. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam , “Changing Dimension of India-US Relations”, The Political Anvil, Vol. 3, No.1, 2014, (ISSN: 2319-7528)
  4. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam, “Revisiting Environmental and Legal issues of Rat-hole Coal Mining in Meghalaya”, International journal of advances in engineering and management, Vol. 3, No. 6, 2021, pp: 1887-1891. (ISSN: 2395-5252)
  5. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam, “Implications of Biden’s administration on the India-US relations”, International Journal of Humanities and Social Science Research, Vol. 7, No. 4, 2021, pp. 49-53., (ISSN: 2455-2070)
  6. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam, “Impact of change and modernity on the Jaiñtia traditional society”, MZU Journal of Literature and Cultural Studies, Vol. 8. No. 1, 2021, pp. 163-178. (ISSN: 2348-1188)

Vernacular Publication:

  1. Spainlinmi B. Lapasam,Ka Synshar Khadar Tynrai ha Ri Lum Jaiñtia: Ka Mynnor bad ka Myntain Ka Synshar Khadar Tynrai U Khasi Bad Ka District Council, A.W. Rani et. al. (eds.) Galaxy Book Centre, Shillong, 2017, pp. 69-93, (ISBN: 978-81-931440-7-7).